Latest news

Hawke’s Bay Top Dining Establishments Revealed

posted on

The finalists have been announced in the Hawkes Bay Hospitality Awards and local diners are being invited to vote for their favourite place to dine out.

The finalists represent the top-notch dining establishments in the region as voted by the hospitality industry.

A number of establishments have received recognition in this year’s final line up including Bistronomy – receiving nominations for outstanding restaurant and outstanding chef for James Beck.

Famed for its delectable desserts, F. G. Smith receives a nomination for best café and best front of house team.

The exceptional Craggy Range Terroir is up for three awards; outstanding winery restaurant, front of house team as well as outstanding chef for Casey McDonald.

Dedication to creating outstanding ambience through creative fit outs is also recognised with Malo, Mamacita, Sparrows and Three Wise Birds Garden Bar all nominated for best design and ambience.

The Hawkes Bay community are also able to vote for their favourite establishment in the First Table People’s Choice Award category.

Seventeen awards will be handed out to the best of the Hawkes Bay hospitality industry.  From crew members, to suppliers, to establishments – the best of the best will be celebrated for their contribution to creating a world-class hospitality scene in the region.

CEO Marisa Bidois says, “Hawkes Bay is famed for its exceptional local produce, so it’s no surprises that it delivers some of the nation’s most exceptional eateries.

“The awards are really an opportunity to recognise those providing an exceptional experience to the dining community and spread the word about the amazing places there are to drink and eat in the region.”

Voting is open until 21 July and the winners will be revealed at the awards evening on Sunday 29th July.

Presented by the Restaurant Association of New Zealand, the Hawkes Bay Hospitality Awards were created to celebrate the legendary people and businesses bringing first class dining experiences to the region.


2019 Hawkes Bay Hospitality Awards Finalists

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Barista

Benjamin Fernandez, Georgia on Tennyson
Isaac Olssen, Cascara Hastings
Kate Coles, Hawthorne Coffee Roasters
Zoe Chisolm, Pixie Bowls      

V Pure Outstanding Bartender

Dave Morris, Funbuns
Jonathan Lopez, Matisse Wine Bar
Nils Kühlsen, Emporium Eatery & Bar
Jason Garrity, Malo      

nib Health Insurance Front of House Team

Craggy Range Winery
Deliciosa Restaurant
F.G. Smith Eatery
Mister D Dining          

Service Foods Outstanding Chef

Casey McDonald, Craggy Range Restaurant
James Beck, Bistronomy
Ricky Littleton, Mission Restaurant             

EIT Hawke’s Bay Emerging Chef

Ariane Scohier Lopez, Matisse Wine Bar
Jitin Joshi, Piku at Red Barrel
Robbie Hawea, Deliciosa Restaurant                

Hawke’s Bay Today Outstanding Coffee Establishment

Cupple Coffee
Georgia on Tennyson
Hawthorne Coffee Roasters

Bidfood Hawke’s Bay Outstanding Café

F.G. Smith Eatery
Little Black Bird

Monin NZ Outstanding Cocktail Experience

Emporium Eatery & Bar
Monica Loves

Lion NZ Outstanding Bar

Diva Bar & Eatery
Kolachi Eatery & Bar
Three Wise Birds Garden Bar

Unison Fibre Outstanding Local

Common Room
JARKs Cityside Restaurant & Bar
Rose & Shamrock      

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding International Dining Experience

Piku at Red Barrel
Rasoi Cuisines of India
Sai Eatery         

Independent Liquor Outstanding Wine & Beverage List

Deliciosa Restaurant
Matisse Wine Bar
The Urban Winery                 

Nova Energy Outstanding Winery Restaurant

Clearview Estate Winery & Restaurant
Craggy Range Restaurant
Elephant Hill
Te Awa Winery Restaurant              

OneMusic Outstanding Restaurant

Black Barn Bistro

Clearview Estate Winery Outstanding Ambience & Design

Three Wise Birds Garden Bar                               

Shed 2 Outstanding Sales Rep

David Thompson, Gourmeats
Kieran Woodham, Villa Maria Estate
Shaye Bird, Liquor King
Steve Olley, Paratua Wines



Back to News