Latest news

Wellington’s top dining establishments revealed

posted on

The finalists have been announced in the Wellington Hospitality awards and Wellingtonians are being invited to vote for their favourite place to dine out.

The finalists represent the top-notch dining establishments in the capital as voted by the hospitality industry.

The Wellington general public are also able to vote for their favourite establishment in the First Table People’s Choice Award category.

Over 20 awards will be given to the best of the Wellington hospitality industry. From crew members, to suppliers, to establishments – the best of the best will be celebrated for their contribution to creating a world-class hospitality scene in Wellington.

A number of establishments took the spotlight at this year’s finalists launch including Shepherd – receiving nods in the Restaurant of the Year, Outstanding Ambience & Design, and Outstanding Maitre d categories – and newcomers Rita and Frenchie. Rita received double ticks, nominated for Outstanding New Establishment and Outstanding Chef of the Year, and Frenchie was nominated in both the Emerging Chef and Outstanding New Establishment categories.

CEO Marisa Bidois says,


“Wellington has a vibrant and world leading hospitality scene which deserves to be recognised. Our goal is to recognise those providing an exceptional experience to Wellingtonians and connect them to one another and the local dining community. ”


Voting is open until Sunday, 14 October and the winners will be revealed at the awards evening on Sunday, 21 October.

Tickets to the event are on sale now, to purchase or for more information regarding the awards please visit Stay connected with key updates and announcements on our Facebook page @felixwellingtonhospitalityawards and Instagram @felixawards.

felix wellington awards

Click to download PDF

2018 Felix Wellington Hospitality Awards Categories

L’affare Outstanding Barista of the Year
Frank Hsu, Frank’s Coffee
Morgan West, Milk Crate
Nik O’Connell, Staple Espresso

Jameson Outstanding Bartender of the Year
Alex Vowles, Hawthorn Lounge
Benji Irvine, Hanging Ditch
Max Roberts-Bristow, Poquito Bar 

Burns & Ferrall Emerging Front of House
Georgia Mackenzie, Poquito Bar
Jack Coppack, Hawthorn Lounge
Louis Shepherd, C.G.R. Merchant & Co. 

Helping Hands Outstanding Front of House Team of the Year
Capitol Restaurant
Ortega Fish Shack & Bar
Prefab Eatery

Moet Hennessy Outstanding Maitre d of the Year
Chelsea Godinet, Shepherd
Davey McDonald, Ortega Fish Shack & Bar
Patrick Ferrier, Capitol Restaurant

Le Cordon Bleu Emerging Chef
Geordie McLachlan, Whitebait
Tom Millot, Frenchie
Zoe Lloyd, Beach House & Kiosk 

Gilmours Outstanding Chef of the Year
James Pask, Whitebait
Kelda Haines, Rita
Tom Hutchison, Capitol Restaurant

Southern Hospitality Outstanding Café of the Year
Café Polo
Prefab Eatery 

Garage Project Outstanding Beer Experience of the Year
Garage Project
Little Beer Quarter

Negociants Outstanding Wine Experience of the Year
Le Samourai
Noble Rot Wine Bar
Ortega Fish Shack & Bar 

Federal Merchants & Co Outstanding Cocktail Experience of the Year
Crumpet Bar
Forresters Lane
Hawthorn Lounge  

Service Foods Outstanding Casual Dining/Street Food Experience of the Year
K C Cafe & Takeaway
Mr Go’s

OneMusic Outstanding Ambience & Design of the Year
Lulu Bar

BCE Catering Equipment Outstanding New Establishment of the Year
1154 Pastaria

Nova Energy Outstanding Suburban/Regional Experience of the Year
Beach House & Kiosk
The Larder

Red + White Cellar Outstanding Restaurant of the Year
Capitol Restaurant
Ortega Fish Shack & Bar

The Recruitment Network Outstanding Caterer of the Year
Ruth Pretty Catering
Sarah Searancke Catering
The Catering Studio

Harbourside Function Venue Outstanding Sales Rep of the Year
Oliver Kettle, Vintners
Rachel Watson, Red + White Cellar
Stephanie Reade, Mineral Wines

Crombie Lockwood Insurance Brokers Outstanding Supplier of the Year
BCE Catering Equipment
Moore Wilson’s
On Trays Food Emporium

iMonitor Outstanding Hospitality Professional of the Year
John Matias, Memphis Belle
Peter Lowry, Forresters Lane
Stephen Morris, Avida Bar

Back to News