Latest news

Congratulations to the winners of the Nelson Hospitality Awards

posted on

The winners of the New Zealand King Salmon Nelson Hospitality Awards have been announced.

The Awards are a celebration of excellence in our industry. It is recognition to the hard working owners, workers, suppliers and establishments who make it all happen in Nelson.



Barista of the Year, sponsored by Pomeroy’s  Coffee + Tea Co.:

Tania Kitto, The Coffee Factory

Head Chef of the Year, sponsored by Greenhough:

Jessie Verhoef, Cod & Lobster

Up and Coming Chef of the Year, sponsored by Westmeat:

Wei Lu, Hopgoods

Outstanding Host Responsibility, sponsored by Nelson Tasman Alcohol Accord:

Sprig & Fern Tahuna

Outstanding Beverage List, sponsored by Kahurangi Estate: 

Rimu Wine Bar

Best Small Accommodation Provider, sponsored by The Nelson Weekly:

Century Park Motor Lodge

Best Large Accommodation Provider, sponsored by The Waimea Weekly:
Quality Inn Nelson

Bar of the Year, sponsored by Lion:

The Speight’s Ale House

Café of the Year, sponsored by Bidfood Nelson:


Outstanding Ambience & Service, sponsored by Seifried Estate Winery:

McCashin’s Brewery Kitchen and Bar

Outstanding Ethnic Cuisine, sponsored by Nelson Food Distributors:


Outstanding Suburban Venue, sponsored by Simply Divine:


Restaurant of the Year, sponsored by New Zealand King Salmon:


Waiter/Maitre D of the Year, sponsored by Neudorf:

Denise Gibson, The Indian Café Nelson

Barperson of the Year, sponsored by DB Breweries:

Zinnia Alice Nichol Foster, Urban Eatery

Best Entertainment Venue, sponsored by Hospitality New Zealand:

The Speight’s Ale House

Best Local Supplier, sponsored by Restaurant Association New Zealand:

Benge & Co Green Grocers


Keep up to date and check out the photos from the night here.


Back to News