Latest news

Christchurch names its top places to dine

posted on

The finalists have been announced in the Christchurch Hospitality awards and represent the top-notch dining establishments in the region as voted by the hospitality industry.

Popular speakeasy bar O.G.B housed in an old heritage building in Cathedral Square takes out nominations for best bar, outstanding bartender, front of house team and central city establishment.

Built around the concept of sharing where guests sit around the chef’s table elegant eatery Inati is nominated for outstanding restaurant while chefs Simon Levy and Cameron Woodhouse are nominated for best chef and best emerging chef.

Great cafes are not lacking in the region with Hello Sunday, Ilex Café, Little Pom’s and Unknown Chapter all receiving nominations in the category of outstanding cafe.

Those looking for the region’s best flat white have ample selection with Jeremy Green of Unknown Chapter, Markus Hirner of Espresso 245, Ryan Haans of The Fermentist and Shaymus Brunton of The Birdwood all finalists in the category of best barista.

The restoration of old buildings, laneways and cleared open spaces have made room for a new wave of innovative pop-up hospitality establishments. Banter

Empire Chicken, Posh Porridge and Vagabond Chefs all receive a nod in the category for best pop-up establishment.

Those looking for a place to get a great drink also won’t be disappointed with the region’s growing assortment of top-notch bars recognised.

O.G.B, gin gin, Smash Palace, The Craft Embassy all receive nominations for the title of Best Bar.

The Christchurch community is also able to vote for its favourite establishment in the People’s Choice Award category.

19 awards will be handed out to the best of the Christchurch hospitality industry. From crew members, to suppliers, to establishments – the best of the best will be celebrated for their contribution to creating a world-class hospitality scene in the region.

Marisa Bidois, CEO Restaurant Association of New Zealand says “The hard working Christchurch hospitality industry deserve recognition more than most. Designing exciting and first-class dining experiences to attract people back into the city, they are at the forefront of rebuilding and reimaging the city. These are a dedicated and creative group of individuals who are critically important to the future of Christchurch.

 “The awards are really an opportunity to recognise those providing an exceptional experience to the dining community and spread the word about the amazing places there are to drink and eat in the region.”

Voting is open until Sunday, 1st September and the winners will be revealed at the awards evening on Monday 9th September.

The Christchurch Hospitality Awards affectionately known as “The Chevrons” are proudly brought to you by the Restaurant Association of New Zealand, Lead Partner and ambassador for the awards – Trents Wholesale, and Lexis ComplyHub.

Tickets to the event are on sale now, to purchase or for more information regarding the awards please visit

Voting links are here for industry and here for people’s choice.

Stay connected with key updates and announcements on our Facebook page @christchurchhospitalityawards and Instagram @christchurchhospitalityawards

Christchurch Hospitality Awards 2019 Finalists:

Mediaworks Outstanding Barista
Jeremy Green – Unknown Chapter
Markus Hirner – Espresso 245
Ryan Haans – The Fermentist
Shaymus Brunton – The Birdwood

Hellers Outstanding Café
Hello Sunday
Ilex Cafe
Little Pom’s
Unknown Chapter

Jameson Outstanding Bartender
Ben Edwards – O.G.B
Charles Gillet – Poplar Social Club
Ezra Eseese – 5th Street
Zac Goy – Vesuvio

Asahi Beverages Outstanding Bar
gin gin
Smash Palace
The Craft Embassy

ARA Institute of Canterbury Emerging Front of House
Ally Demarchi – 5th Street
Grace Irving – O.G.B
Jamie Rogers – Amazonita

Antipodes Outstanding Maitre’d
Ana-Maria Smith – Miro
Claudia Hagerty – Barberra
Olivia England – The Monday Room
Wynn Kerstens – 5th Street

Southern Hospitality Emerging Chef
Andrew Tranter – Pescatore, The George
Cameron Woodhouse – Inati
Vanessa Bennie – Craft Embassy

Service Foods Outstanding Chef
Eeva Torvinen – The Monday Room
Jackson Smith – Pegasus Bay
Jamie Bennett – Town Tonic
Simon Levy – Inati

OneMusic Outstanding Ambience & Design
5th Street

Burns & Ferrall Outstanding Pop Up Establishment
Empire Chicken
Posh Porridge
Vagabond Chefs

Kono Wines Outstanding Ethnic/Casual Dining
Francesca’s Italian Kitchen
Hanoi Me
Kinji Japanese Restaurant
Miss Peppercorn

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Central City Establishment
Not Without You
Smokey T’s
Twenty Seven Steps

Nova Energy Outstanding Suburban/Regional Establishment
Black Estate
Pegasus Bay
The Birdwood
The Port & Eagle

Mediaworks Outstanding New Venue
Athens Yacht Club

Burns & Ferrall Outstanding Restaurant
The Monday Room
5th Street

Eaton Drink Co. Outstanding Sales Rep
Andrew Johnston – Procure Liquor
Andy Allen – Invisible Wines
Paul Bett – Asahi Beverages
Richard Page – Aitkens

NZI Outstanding Supplier
Peter Langlands
Peter Timbs Meats
Red & White Cellar
Southern Hospitality

McCarthy Outstanding Caterer
Ilex Events
Eaton Drink Co
Moveable Feasts
The Bespoke Chef


Back to News